Supporting Excellence in Road Safety Awards – 2021

Celebrating Excellence in Road Safety

Every year, RSE and our major partners recognise the contribution of individuals, schools, Police members and community groups with their ‘Supporting Excellence in Road Safety’ Awards. This year, we took advantage of the yellow spotlight and shone it on some hard-working supporters.


New Zealand Awardees

BOC RYDA Champion – Freya Kerr
Bridgestone School Award – Henderson High School
NZ Steel Facilitator Award – Wendy Hooper & Rachelle Borsteinas

The awards were presented on Sunday, 17 May at the Royal NZ Yacht squadron during the National Launch for Road Safety Week. We congratulate this year’s honorees and thank the many people who came along to celebrate their achievements and get into the spirit of Yellow Ribbon Road Safety Week. Below are a few snaps of the festivities:

Australian Awardees

With the short time-frame between the re-scheduled 2020 Road Safety Week and 2021, in Australia, we decided to continue to honour the 2020 recipients during National Road Safety Week 2021.  They were:

BOC RYDA Champion – All Rotary RYDA Coordinating Committees
Toyota Community Award – Bass Coast Cycle Challenge, Victoria
Bridgestone School Award – Nazareth Catholic College – Flinders Campus, South Australia
MTAA Super Facilitator Award – Anthony Cope, New South Wales
Boral Police Award – Senior Constable Annabel Shegog, Tasmania

The Australian awards were presented around the country and announced during National Road Safety Week.  Our partners helped to put together video messages celebrating the honourees.