Most governments around Australia and in New Zealand have adopted a graduated licensing scheme for novice drivers.  This means that there will be certain restrictions at various stages of licensing – all designed to keep young drivers safe as they gain experience behind the wheel.  It’s important that you understand what the rules and restrictions are at each stage, as well as what’s involved in moving from Ls to Ps/Restricted to full license.

To find out what the rules are in your jurisdiction, here are a couple of handy links:


Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



West Australia


New Zealand